Messi wins Pichichi Trophy for the eighth time

Barcelona captain Lionel Messi has won the Pichichi Trophy. Messi became the top scorer in La Liga this season, winning the Pichichi Trophy.

Despite failing to lead Barcelona to the La Liga title, Messi, who won the Copa del Rey, won the Pichichi Trophy with the most number of goals in La Liga. He scored 30 goals and 9 assists in 35 games.

In winning the trophy, Messi trailed Real Madrid’s French forward Karim Benzema and Villarreal’s Gerard Moreno. Benzema had 23 goals and 9 assists. Moreno had 23 goals and 7 assists.

Messi had won the Pichichi Trophy for the eighth time and the fifth consecutive season. He is the first player to win this award for five consecutive seasons. Messi has previously played in 2009–10 (34), 2012–12 (50), 2012–13 (46), 2016–17 (37), 2017–18 (34), 2018–19 (36), He scored 25 goals in 2019-20.

Be the first to comment on "Messi wins Pichichi Trophy for the eighth time"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.